Is Your iPhone Slow?

March 7, 2018 2:40 pm Published by Leave your thoughts

Is your iPhone slow?

  

Does your iPhone seem slower than when you first purchased it?  If you answered yes, don’t worry nothing is wrong with your iPhone, it just needs a little TLC.

The reason why iPhones get slower and slower is because of all the data we have stored over the months/years of using this wonderful piece of equipment. A lot of the data can be deleted or uploaded to a cloud-based service such as Google Drive or Dropbox to increase memory and space; which in turn will speed up your iPhone.

But before we start uploading all those precious pictures and deleting them off your phone try the solutions below to see if they help with the speed of your iPhone.

First, delete all the text messages you don’t need to keep.

Go to the Messages application. Here you will see a list of all the people you have text history with, decide on which text messages you no longer need. Then Press the “Edit” button and delete the conversations. Or, if you prefer, simply swipe left on each name one at a time, and then press the “Delete” button.

Second, shut down all open applications.

Double-click your Home button to display your open applications. Choose the app you would like to close and drag the app straight up until the app disappears.  Unused open apps use a lot of memory. Be sure to close out all unused apps. I close out apps I’m not using at least twice a day.

If both of these functions don’t help the speed of your iPhone you may want to do a reset. BUT BEFORE YOU PERFORM THE RESET FUNCTION MAKE SURE YOU BACKUP ALL DATA YOU DON’T WANT LOST.  This is where uploading your pictures and videos to the cloud comes in.

If you have a Gmail account, you can simply upload all your photos and video to Google Photos.  If you don’t have a Gmail account find another cloud based service to upload all those precious memories to, such as dropbox or iDrive. Once you have completed that task you are ready to reset your iPhone.

Reset your iPhone.

This procedure will erase any apps you installed along with your personal data, including notes, appointments and contacts and pictures. The will return the iPhone to its original factory settings. Before you begin make sure your phone is plugged into a charger and the battery has a full charge. Then go to “settings” and tap on “general” The iPhone will display several options; the “Reset” option is at the very bottom of the list. Tap it and you see a list of different reset operations. To perform a complete reset, tap the second item, “Erase All Content and Settings,” and then “Erase iPhone.” Make sure you don’t disturb the device until it finishes erasing data; this can take from a few minutes to over an hour. After erasing its data, the iOS software restarts itself.

Until Next Time,

Megabite.

Categorised in:

This post was written by Karen

Leave a Reply

Contact Us

  • 531 South 8th Street, Fernandina Beach, FL 32034
  • 904-430-0350
  • top icon